European Commission


To understand European commission, you will first have to know about the European Union, universally recognized as the E.U. It is the political and monetary hub of twenty seven European nations including Austria, Italy, Belgium, Portugal, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Spain, Sweden, Denmark, Slovenia, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Finland Luxemburg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, and the United Kingdom, Romania and Bulgaria.

The European Union has four functional bodies- the Council of Ministers, the European Commission, the European Parliament and the European Court of Justice. Each body has its set of functions and responsibilities to look up to. The European Commission, an integral part of E.U, is the chief executive body of the European Union. Its main responsibility is to ensure that all the E.U treaties are accomplished successfully. European commission is also accountable for managing the E.U policies. It is the guiding force to the European Union. This body is mainly responsible for the practical implementation of all the legislative decisions and treaties. It is supposed to represent the European Union on an international platform. All the negotiation tasks are performed by the European Commission. The European commission is also known as the legislative motor for the European Union. The European commission members are called commissioners. All the members are nominated for a term of five years for the office. The United Kingdom usually appoints one person from the elected government and the other from the opposition party. European Commission has a president to control the working of the commission. He is elected by all the governments of the member states. The president has a team of two vice presidents. Presently, the European Commission is placed in Brussels. The president is supposed to act according to the rules of the European Union. All the commissioners are answerable to the president and the president is answerable to the E.U.

The European Commission also appoints Directorates-Generals or the DGs. Every DG has a particular matter to take care of. This office can be compared to the British government office. The European Commission is also responsible for administering the E.U. funds. All the investigation is also carried out by the European Commission. The European Union came into existence with the Treaty of Paris in 1951 which resulted in the formation of the European Commission with the Merger Treaty in 1965. At present, the European commission consists of a total of twenty members.